All states have placed limits on the amount of time you have to file a lawsuit in civil court after you have suffered some type of harm. This kind of law is called a statute of limitations, and there are different deadlines depending on what type of case you want to file.
In New Jersey, the statute of limitations for most kinds of personal injury cases gives a claimant TWO (2) years from the date of the injury to go to court and file a lawsuit against those responsible for the underlying accident.
Why is this law important? Basically, if you fail to get to the courthouse before this 2 year window closes, the New Jersey court system will likely refuse to hear your case at any time in the future, and your right to compensation will be lost.
The statute of limitations we’ve discussed here applies to MOST New Jersey lawsuits seeking compensation for losses related to a physical injury. In more unique situations, it can be LESS than the standard 2 years in an injury case — SO BEWARE!! Also, certain situations can alter or extend the applicable filing deadline.
Talk to a knowledgeable attorney as soon as possible…
HIRE THE RIGHT ATTORNEY 24/7 (973) 704-7376 pescatorelaw.com in PASSAIC, ESSEX AND UNION COUNTY — NEW JERSEY
WE ARE VERY SUCCESSFUL — More than two-thirds of our clients received a settlement for their personal injury claims. Those with the most severe injuries receive higher settlements or awards.